10th Annual VES Awards Recipients

Posted on February 9, 2012 by Melissa


Congratulations to all the artists at ILM that have participated in the creation of Rango!

The Visual Effects Society has announced the winners of the 10th Annual VES Awards. The annual event recognizes achievements in the visual effects industry in both film and television.

Rango, which used ZBrush heavily, was the big winner this year, ending the night with four awards:

  • Outstanding Visual Effects in an Animated Feature Motion Picture – Rango: Tim Alexander, Hal Hickel, Jacqui Lopez, Katie Lynch
  • Outstanding Animated Character in an Animated Feature Motion Picture – Rango: Frank Gravatt, Kevin Martel, Brian Paik, Steve Walton
  • Outstanding Created Environment in an Animated Feature Motion Picture – Rango: Main Street Dirt: John Bell, Polly Ing, Martin Murphy, Russell Paul
  • Outstanding Virtual Cinematography in an Animated Feature Motion Picture – Rango: The Dirt Saloon: Colin Benoit, Philippe Rebours, Nelson Sepulveda, Nick Walker

For a full list of the award winners, visit the Visual Effects Society website.

Congratulations Frank!!

“ZBrush has allowed me total freedom as a sculptor in a 3D world. Being able to take a model so much further than before sculpturally has been a dream come true. With ZBrush I believe I’ve come full circle with my goals in life.” —Frank Gravatt – ZBrush artist and creature modeler, Industrial Light and Magic

Check out our interview with ILM on the making of Rango. It’s packed full of images and inside info from the artists. For more interviews from the top artists and studios in the industry, take a look at our User Stories page.